Options

Road mapping

I am a newbie. Just got a 2021 T@B 320s and need to know how to plan a safe route so I don't have alot of steep grades bridges, sharp curves, etc until I am better experienced driving with a trailer. My TV is a 2017 Subaru outback with a Curt wireless brake controller which I also have to learn to use effectively. Appreciate all advise you have to offer :)
Jean

Comments

• Options
    DalehelmanDalehelman Member Posts: 2,410
    Just take a lot of short trips around town. You will be surprised how easy it will become. Practice builds confidence. Confidence reduces stress. Then the fun begins. Happy trails.
    1. Hash  T@B Fun
  • Options
    4ncar4ncar Member Posts: 1,072
    @OliviaOtis:  Even though there are some mapping programs, and RV intended GPS systems, nothing will straighten the roads out or remove bridges.  The systems intended for RVers generally will route you away from tolls, tunnels(laws pertaining to the transport of propane inside tunnels), & height restrictions(user entered info).  Also, these systems will allow you to avoid interstates, if you prefer.  As Dale has suggested, practice makes perfect!!😅
    TV- '16 Chevy Colorado LT Crew Cab-DuraMax
    2018 320S Outback
  • Options
    falcon1970falcon1970 Member Posts: 755
    @OliviaOtis
    Each state has a Dept of Transportation.  Somewhere on their website they will have info about road closures.  In many states (Colorado being a good example) the also show gradients on the roads,  It is a pain if you are planning a trip through several states, and you usually have to search around to find it but the info is there somewhere.
  • Options
    SweetlyHomeSweetlyHome Member Posts: 336
    Another source is Mountain Directory dot com.  They offer an east and a west coast printed atlas that describes steep sections of highways.  Friends have both and we found this a great source when traveling out west. 
    Jupiter, Florida~T@B 400, with 2018 Toyota 4Runner

• Options