Dual BB LiFePO4 Battery Setup

I recently finished my install & securing of my new dual battery setup on a 2021 320S BD.  Thought I'd share what I did here in the event someone is thinking of doing the same.  I'm a bit of novice, but tried to do my homework by reading as much as I could in these forums.

I went with (2) Battleborn 100Ah batteries wired in parallel with a Victron Smartshunt.  I plan to use the pre-installed SAE port with a suitcase panel when needed.  Given the cost of the batteries, securing them was a very important concern, as well as protection from the elements.  I really want to get my 10+ years out of these!

My original intent was to have both batteries in the main storage compartment, but learned quickly they both will not fit if they are placed in battery boxes.  The battery boxes were important to me for two reason.  Protection from the elements, but they also hide the type of battery inside of them.

I decided to mount one battery in the main compartment and the second battery in the "David Hess" side storage compartment.  Both batteries are secured with a thick Master Lock security cable.

Here is the first battery in the main compartment.  I would have liked to have the security cable a bit closer to the battery, but there were pre-existing holes in the platform, and I didn't want to also drill through the utility platform, so I only drilled into the storage compartment.  It would be very challenging for someone to wiggle the battery out with how tight the cable is and the battery box is wedged into place.

With the cover/cable removed.  The cables to the second battery thread through the back hole.  Don't be alarmed by what looks like a positive battery cable connected to the negative terminal.  I used a red cable to connect to the SmartShunt and tried to color it with a black Sharpie marker (but didn't get all of it!).

Smartshunt in my Rubbermaid waterproof container.