320 CS S galley door won't latch

Hello!  I am a newbie to the forum.  My girlfriend has a 2019 TaB 320 CS S and since she got it in 2020, the galley latches don't work properly.  She has always tied bungee cords around the galley t-handles and the levelers below to keep the galley door shut when pulling the trailer.  The problem -- best I can tell -- is that either the strike bars mounted on the frame of the galley are not high enough or the paddles (the part that turns when you turn the key in the T-bar) are not long enough.  I'm not sure if this was a dealer install or original factory but it sure seems obviously defective. Anybody else see this same or similar problem?  Any ideas of modifications appreciated... I could try replacing the whole thing but since I'm not clear where the defect is, I might buy and install a new latch set (teardroptrailerparts suggests a DL11) only to find that the new one has the same problem.  P.S. My girlfriend doesn't want me to try moving the strike bar because she is very sensitive to appearance and is worried the old holes will look terrible.  Longer paddles might do the trick but I can't find a source.

Comments

• Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,461
    @djm1021 - our paddle is mounted closer to the hatch with the stem projecting beyond the paddle.  There is a set screw that should allow you to adjust the paddle.  FYI - the set screws can come loose, so check them from time to time.

Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • djm1021djm1021 Member Posts: 5
    Thanks Sharon_is_SAM.  I've tried moving the paddle to different positions without luck.  Your positioning certainly makes sense to hold the galley door tighter to the frame IF it is latching properly.