Options

shore power extension cord?

I am totally new to all of this. I purchased a 2021, slightly used tab400 Boondock in April of this year. I have had it outside and covered this summer as I prepare to take it to some warmer areas this winter. In its current location I cannot reach an Elec outlet with the included cord. Can I use an extension cord, the 30amp adapter and the supplied cord to connect to shore power? Is there a specific extension cord that works? I sure don't want to do anything to wreck the system! 
Thank you in advance for any info/advice

Comments

• Options
    Grumpy_GGrumpy_G Member Posts: 449
    Basically yes. Use a heavy gauge extension cord (10 AWG) rated for outdoor use. Obviously you're still limited to 16 amps from a typical household outlet so you can't use all electric appliances at the same time. 
  • Options
    AnOldURAnOldUR Member Posts: 1,282
    Sure, you can use an extension cord between the adapter and a 120V outlet. Preferably it will be a 20 amp outlet and your cord will be 12 gauge. Just be sure to not overload the cord or breaker rating by using too many high draw devices at the same time.
    Stockton, New Jersey
    2020 nuCamp T@B 320S * Jeep Wrangler

• Options
    laurhlaurh Member Posts: 5
    Thanks for the help! 
    I don’t even want to use the appliances now, I need the elec tongue jack to be functional in the short term. Don’t know if the solar is still charged since the trailer has been covered since late May. I’ll be taking it to a local RV dealer next week to get a different hitch set up. 
    The electrical is always a mystery for me. 
  • Options
    marleecampsmarleecamps Member Posts: 133
    This is the extension cord I purchased for my 2021 T@b 400.  I use it primarily in my driveway to power up the frig the day before departure.