Adding a 12 volt power adapter

ParlandoParlando Member Posts: 130
I have a 2015 320 T@B.  I would like to add one or two 12 volt cigarette style power adapter in the back of the cabin.  Can I tap into either the audio speaker for the radio or the small reading light? 

Comments

• Grumpy_GGrumpy_G Member Posts: 507
    Not the speaker but the reading light will work. However the wire gauge might only allow for lower power 12V devices, no inverters or similar. 
  • ParlandoParlando Member Posts: 130
    @Grumpy_G    Thank you.  I want to use it to power a 5 volt fan or charge iPad.  I'm curious, can you explain why the light will work, but not the speaker?  I'm still learning about electrical processes.  Thanks
  • MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,689
    @Parlando ;  What @Grumpy_G said . . 2X

Your 2015 wring should be about the same as the 2016.  The Rear Reading Lights are connected to a 10-Amp Fuse at the Power Center Fuse Panel.

Reference:

P.S.  Speaker wires are low voltage 'signal wires' not Power Sources.
    '18 320 Spitched axle, 3020HE; PNW based
    TV: '17 Colorado V6 Z71 4x4, Tow Package, GM Brake Controller
    Adventures:  53   Nights:  334  Towing Miles 42,600+
    @MuttonChops   Thank you.  2 Questions: So I won't overload that 10Amp fuse?  And what size wire should I use to connect to the new power adapter.  Also... hello Mutton Chops.  We met you at Lincoln Rock state park last year.
    The speaker wires don't carry 12V DC but amplified audio signals (high frequency AC if you will) from the radio. 
    Parlando said:
    . . .  overload that 10Amp fuse?
    . . .  what size wire should I use to connect to the new power adapter.

For what you are planning to use the additional 12VDC outlets for . . . most likely the 10-Amp Fuse will be fine.  Of course it never hurts to be cautious at first and don't turn-on everything connected to Fuse-3 while using the 12VDC outlet.