Options

Total newbie: Solar Panel/Charger Controller question

AudioGirlAudioGirl Member Posts: 19
Greetings savvy T@B RVers,
I have a 2018 (purchased new) T@B 320S.
I had the dealer install a solar panel plug but have never used panels and I don't know anything about how they work, etc.
I'm told a Renogy 200 Watt 12 Volt Portable Solar Panel with Waterproof 20A Charger Controller would work fine.
I've attached THREE pics that I hope helps illuminate.
THANK YOU sooo much for any help/advice you can give.
:-)

Comments

• Options
    fwunderfwunder Member Posts: 39
    I'm guessing you are looking at the Renogy 200 watt suitcase with a Voyager 20 amp PWM charge controller? Yes, it will work fine with your Lifeline AGM battery(s). You just want to make sure the polarity on the SAE connector ( Solar plug) is correct and that your charge controller settings are setup for AGM battery. 

You have the option of leaving the charge controller with the panels or placing the charge controller closer to your battery bank. Technically, it would be more efficient if you place the charge controller closer to battery bank - less impact from voltage drop over distance.

It's really set it and forget it except to move panels to capture more sun.

I have the Renogy 200 watt suitcase w/Voyager PWM controller, another HQST 100 Watt Monocrystalline with Voyager PWM controller and now my 190 watt Tab panel w/Victron MPPT controller. They all work great. To make things more flexible and to chase the sun I made up a bunch of different lengths 10 gauge wire w/Anderson connectors. Sometimes I want to park the camper in the shade and put the panels out in the sun.
  • Options
    Here is a visual of how I would normally camp with my R-Pod before I got my brand new Tab 400. Note the charge controllers are close to battery bank. 
  • Options