Options

Backing up

It is official, I haven't got a clue about how to back my T@B. I spent at least an hour this morning trying to even come close to may storage unit. If I turn to the left (even just a little) it jackknifes to the right, if I turn to the right it jackknifes to the right, if I try to back straight it jackknifes to the right. I ended up pushing it in by hand and the front wheel kept bogging down in the gravel until I would have to hook it back up to the TV and push it a little farther and start the whole thing over again. I'm to old for this, this was suppose to be easy and fun not frustrating and annoying. That front wheel is to stall to push it over anything but concrete. I haven't even camped in it yet and I'm ready to get rid of darn thing.

Comments

• Options
    mickietucsmickietucs Member Posts: 709
    Cat - hang in there! I'm a newbie (of sorts - towed but it was 40 years ago and a much bigger rig, which is actually easier to back up).  I was pretty nervous and have only backed it up to my storage place once. Others will be able to give you tips. Here are mine: since the T@B is a single axle it responds to movements much quicker than the larger rigs. So you have to make tiny adjustments-you said you turned it just a little but try even littler turns to the wheel. And the storage lot guys helped me by saying once you start backing up and it's starting to jack-knife, don't turn the wheel the other way - pull forward again. I must have pulled forward 8-10 times! That's okay. The other thing I did was get two collapsible cones - I put one on both sides of the space so I can see them in my mirrors - or one on the side at the place where you want to stop. If you have time and the storage place is convenient - hook it up and spend an hour practicing. I know the first time I take it camping and have to back up I'll provide some enjoyment to others watching but that's okay - up/back, up/back - eventually it'll come easier :)