Options

Water Pump Issue Solved - 2016 T@B Q Max Outback Edition

geasandgeasand Member Posts: 1
At the dealer the water pump worked.  When I got it home it wouldn't pump.  The motor was running but no pressure.  Water tank was full. Solution - with pump running first loosen the clear cap on top of the small filter chamber on the input side of pump allowing the chamber to fill with water, then tighten the clear cap.  Then slightly loosen the hose connection on the output side of the pump allowing a small amount of water drip out, then tighten.  Voila!  The pump started pressuring up and is now working.  I'm a newbie and maybe this is standard operating procedure for clearing air from the pump.  Whatever, this worked for me.  Now I'm happy.

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    Cool - Good to know when you have an air lock.
  • Options
    RZRBUGRZRBUG Member Posts: 890
    geasand said:
    At the dealer the water pump worked.  When I got it home it wouldn't pump.  The motor was running but no pressure.  Water tank was full. Solution - with pump running first loosen the clear cap on top of the small filter chamber on the input side of pump allowing the chamber to fill with water, then tighten the clear cap.  Then slightly loosen the hose connection on the output side of the pump allowing a small amount of water drip out, then tighten.  Voila!  The pump started pressuring up and is now working.  I'm a newbie and maybe this is standard operating procedure for clearing air from the pump.  Whatever, this worked for me.  Now I'm happy.
    Is this the same procedure needed for the hammering water pump?  Never had a problem until this weekend.  Water comes out, but pump hammers, especially at low flow rate.  I took a look at it while it was making the racket, and the dadgum thing was jumping all over the place like it was gonna come loose any minute.

Larry & Booger - 2013 T@B, 2012 GMC Sierra

Happy Trails Y'all

States Visited Map

• Options