Options

Good overnight near I - 81 in VA?

Jo_chrisJo_chris Member Posts: 21
Hi my husband Chris and I will be traveling from CT to Ashville NC and are looking for a good over night spot for the ride down. Planning to stay at Big Meadows Shenandoah for 2 nights on our return trip (so excited for that)! Thanks, Jo

Comments

• Options
    CyclonicCyclonic Member Posts: 1,232
    With 350 miles of I-81 in Virginia, there is a lot to choose from.  Unfortunately I've no experience with any along there as it is too close to home for an overnight stop.

I have tent camped at Big Meadows once, great experience in a walk back site.  Big Meadows has a wayside and a visitors center, the wayside had a pretty good breakfast.  Bring quarters for the showers. 

I am told Loft Mountain is also very nice, cooler as it sits higher and not as crowded.

States the T@Bpole has camped, so far ;)
    Nathan & Becky... 2013 Ford F150 FX4 TAB HLR... 2012 LG T@B T@Bpole.
    Sterling, VA
  • Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,506
    What is a wayside?
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    KeltdubhKeltdubh Member Posts: 54
    If you don't mind dry camping, you may consider Cave Mountain Lake Campground near Natural Bridge, VA.  It's about 7 miles off of Exit 180A.  They have a bath house with free showers and there is water available throughout the campground.  I can not remember if they have a dump station or not.  I highly recommend making reservations this time of year. Cave Mountain Lake Campground
    Ed & Tea
    Linden, VA
    2016 T@B Q Max Outback Package - 2015 Toyota Tacoma TRD Off Road
    Shenandoah Valley T@BBERS
  • Options
    RatkityRatkity Member Posts: 3,770
    @Jo_chris I'm not sure where else you can stay on your journey. I wish you safe travels!!