Options

Torque wrench?

Apparently I need to acquire a torque wrench for my lug nuts. As I have no experience whatsoever with this, would someone please recommend a specific one that is appropriate and not too costly?
John and Henrietta, Late 2016 T@B S Max in Western New York

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    Hmmmm - Never owned one. Why not just stop by your favorite...auto mech, gas station, tire shop ... and have the torque checked once in awhile? Inbetween stops, just check that lugs feel tight.
  • Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 6,878
    I bought one from Harbor Freight. It comes in a plastic case to protect it.
    Verna, Columbus, IN
    2021 T@B 320S  Boondock “The T@B”
    Towed by a white 2019 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost “The Truck”
  • Options
    Verna - Do you carry it with you?
    Curious - How many that do own one do carry it on the road.
    Now, it's a fact that I'm a minimalist and carry as little as possible but I still carry way to much and need to cut back. Still trying to get to that stage of carrying only stuff I use on a regular basis.
  • Options
    PXLated said:
    Verna - Do you carry it with you?
    Curious - How many that do own one do carry it on the road.
    Now, it's a fact that I'm a minimalist and carry as little as possible but I still carry way to much and need to cut back. Still trying to get to that stage of carrying only stuff I use on a regular basis.
    Yes, it fits on the floorboard behind my driver's seat. It takes up little room.  I did use it last year when I had to change a tire. 
    Verna, Columbus, IN
  • Options
    RamrodRamrod Member Posts: 164
    Eye ball it on the road and check your torque at home. Harbor Freight torque wrench works perfectly fine 
  • Options
    Takes up little room + takes up little room + takes up little room + takes up little room ends up (in my case) taking up a lot of room :-)
  • Options
    Ramrod said: