Options

Question about winterizing

WeBeTabbinWeBeTabbin Member Posts: 6
Hey all, I have a quick question for the pros. I have a 2017 t@b 320 outback. Up here in the Pac northwest we only dip below freezing occasionally in the winter and I am hesitant to winterize because we plan to use our tab year around. Being an avid skier, I'm planning on several weekend ski trips with her. I want to know considering the climate if it is safe to keep tab plugged into shore power for the winter and kick on the alde on the occasional 32 degree and below nights? Or is their a method of protection that is extremely short term so as to allow continued use? Thanks to any who can help!

Comments

• Options
    HalooHaloo Member Posts: 137
    edited November 2017
    We’re supposed to have a colder than normal winter, ya know.  And more snow than normal...again.  We are excited for a nice winter of cross country skiing!

I’m not a pro.  Hopefully, some of them will weigh in here for you.  This is what we are doing.

We are in the South Puget Sound.  Last winter we had snow, and a few very cold nights.  It’s even dropped into the teens here.  So I blew all the water out of my 400’s plumbing and poured some RV antifreeze down my drains yesterday.  And, after lots of good shared knowledge and advice on this forum, I’m going to put a Battery Tender Plus on my camper’s battery.  The Battery Tender usually comes with a pigtail that you can leave attached to your battery.  Apparently, remaining plugged into shore power to keep the battery charged is less than optimal.

You can still use your T@B this winter, including the heat, fridge, stove, lighting....  Just don’t use the plumbing after you’ve winterized it.  We installed a composting toilet in our 400 to make it more boondockable, which also makes our T@B pretty easy to use in cold weather.