Solar Power 101

Okay, I'll admit it, I know next to nothing about electricity.  In fact, I just had to read an online article to find out the different between watts, volts and amps!  Having confessed that, I am really interested in solar options for our T@B.  I have read all the pertinent posts in this forum on solar power and they are too technical for me.   My questions are:  what is a decent solar system to purchase for occasional use?   Does a portable Zamp system include everything I would need?   When camping without electrical hookup, our needs would be fairly simple: lights, water pump, charging of electronics, etc.   What resources can you folks who are well-versed in solar use and equipment recommend for those of us who know very little on this subject?
2015 T@B 320 S, 2019 Jeep Cherokee
States Visited Map

Comments

• jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,389

Norm, I think we a started there and I am still learning. Yes, Zamp would have everything you needed to get started. Renogy also has some reputable options but require a small amount of effort-mainly getting an SAE connector and stripping the correct end of the solar charger. I am going the route of Goal Zero, but am utilizing their charge controllers that were recently discontinued.

Whatever the setup, the essentials will be a panel, charge controller, and a way to connect to the battery. You can connect to the battery via the built in solar port using a 2 pin SAE cable. You can also connect to the battery by placing alligator clips directly on the battery terminals.

2021 T@b 320 Boondock "Mattie Ross" | 2021 T@b Nights: 239 | Total nights in a T@b 455 | 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland | T@b owner since 2014

• NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209