Use computer while charging, or 'use' on battery?

b407driverb407driver Member Posts: 130
OK, so I know this sounds like a weird question, but I've seen info somewhere that I cannot now find. I am a photographer who will be boondocking for up to 7 days at a time, and am trying to develop my own set of 'best practices' before taking delivery.

Anyway, if I am remembering correctly, the basic gist was that if you are relying on solar for days on end, it was better to charge the computer while *not* using it, and use the computer only via its battery if possible.

Has anyone evaluated this, or ever heard anything about someone addressing it?

The other thing I'm curious about is charging camera batteries, as this can be a struggle for me to keep up after a good astro night (I sometimes go through 3+ LP-6 batteries in a night). I'm considering buying an after-market 6V charger, but am unsure if it's any more efficient that just using the inverter. 

Anyway, if anyone could shed me some light, I'd appreciate it! We're within a week of delivery!!!

-Jeff

2020 T@B400 Boondock Lite w/solar, TV is 2016 Toyota 4Runner TRD
Jeff --Front Range of Colorado

Comments

• DougHDougH Member Posts: 1,110
    edited May 2019
    On the question of how you charge the laptop and multiple camera batteries, I don't know that I've seen any DC based chargers you can clip onto the house battery bank to then charge up those Lithium packs.  My Fujifilm likes 8.4V / 0.6A for its packs, Nikons and Canons differ.  So while inefficient to use an inverter to convert to AC just to go back to an appropriate level DC current and voltage, you may have little choice. 
    2021 Jeep Gladiator, 2021 tiny toy hauler, Austin TX
    Former steward of a 2017 T@B S Max

• b407driverb407driver Member Posts: 130