Options

Inverter needed or not

I'm new to this so I have the option of installing a 1000W or 2000W inverter in my T@B 320 year 2020.  Or the dealer said I can just buy a portable inverter that plugs in.  It plugs into the cigarette lighter 12v in the camper.  I'm going to be using my laptop constantly in the RV, charging camera batteries, iPad, Kindle that sort of thing.  Do I get the inverter installed (if so - which one) or use the plug in device?  It's not so much a money issue as it is convenience. (Edited as I found the "cigarette lighter" in the camper. )

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,653
    I run my laptop with a 300 watt inverter either that I attach to a small battery I carry (35AH) or with a 12V laptop power adapter that plugs into the 12V ports in the trailer.  For a laptop, your dealer is correct.  You would only need a 1000/2000 watt inverter for items with a large power draw.

Your laptop draws amps depending on the size of the screen, and it isn't "too" much.  These are the results of a test I did just a few weeks ago:

"As near as my math will take me, my laptop, charged, running Lightroom and a You Tube video, is using about 2.5 amp hours or so on 12v.  (Check my math:  30 watts divided by 12 volts=2.5 amp hours)?

But if I want to charge the laptop and run those items, the amp hour usage would be about 5 amp hours.  (Not to mention the percentage loss from the inverter inside the trailer)."

Not sure what your battery setup is, but even on my "stock" battery with 35AH available I can run my laptop a long time.

Here is the entire thread on using a laptop. There are several different options for laptop power.

2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    DigitalSorceressDigitalSorceress Member Posts: 213