Options

Newbie with some questions about Trailer / wheels

Michael49Michael49 Member Posts: 140
Newbie here! I have already learned a ton just from searching here.

Just purchased a used 2018 T@B 400! First camper for long time tenters!

The inside looks great but I've noticed that the trailer and wheels have some issues.  Previous owner took it across country last summer. During the Winter it sat outside in New Hampshire. I towed it home 2.5 hours without any issues. 

You can see the rust on the frame which I removed and painted - kind of surprised to see this in a 1 year old trailer!

My next plan was to add some grease to the bearings via the Zerk fitting, but when I looked closely at the wheels I was shocked by the amount of rust on the hubs!! Also, I noticed that a lug nut is cracked. 

I assume I'll need to replace the lug nut, but what about the hubs? Can I remove the rust and paint them or should I replace them? Should I plan on checking the brakes as part of this maintenance?

Thanks for your input in advance guys.

Former T@B 400 owner, now thinking about a 320. 2019 Honda Ridgeline.

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,489
    edited June 2019
    Sat outside - was it covered?  Did they have it on salted roads?  I would definitely check the brakes.   Nice job removing the rust.
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    db_cooperdb_cooper Member Posts: 726
    We bought a 1 yr old 320s that sat outside without a cover in the PNW.  Not exactly rust belt, but looked similar to yours.  We live on Puget Sound which is saltwater, but not open ocean, even so brakes on our cars rust quick.  I used a wire brush to remove the rust from the axle and a few spots on the frame, and then sprayed with Boeshield T9.  Reapply every fall and spring,  hasn't gotten worse.