How useful or necessary is a sway control arm?

morey000morey000 Member Posts: 155
this would be pretty simple to install and cheap.  Met another TAB owner that says he loves his and wouldn't to without it.  I'm new at this- haven't picked up my new TAB yet, but will next week.  

https://www.etrailer.com/Weight-Distribution/Curt/17200.html

Silver on Silver, 320S '19 Outback Lite

Comments

• Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,460
    @morey000, If I recall, you are planning to purchase a 320.  I think a general consensus regarding using a sway control device while towing a 320 is that it is not necessary if you have an appropriate tow vehicle to start - a minimum of 6 cylinder, tow capacity 3500 # with at least an allowable 350# tongue weight.  Also, keeping your speed in check will help.  Yes, there are those who successfully tow on the flat with a 4 cylinder, but, I suspect they are in the minority.  
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • rkj__rkj__ Member Posts: 641
    I've felt no need for a sway control device on my T@B 320 CS-S.  I've towed thousands of miles, fast, slow, uphill, downhill, paved roads, gravel roads, straight roads, curvy roads. 

Just make sure your trailer is loaded in a way to maintain sufficient tongue weight. 
    2016 T@b 320 CS-S - 2018 GMC Sierra - St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
  • morey000morey000 Member Posts: 155
    You have a good memory - I pick up my 320S Outback Lite next week.  My TV is a small SUV (Range Rover Evoque) that has a 4,000lb tow capacity (2.0L Turbo engine with 250hp and 270ft-lb of torque).  I've towed much heavier, but with a sway control hitch.  

Expect to see a few dozen questions from me in the near future.  I'll do a search first.  
  • CbusguyCbusguy Member Posts: 771