Winter Time AGM Battery Removal?

BoomzoomBoomzoom Member Posts: 8
I live in Northern VT and the outside temp can get rather cold (down to -28F or lower) in the winter. This is my first time with RV batteries that are AGM style.  I've always removed my previous batteries in the past and stored them inside the house for the winter.  I was informed that this is not necessary with this style of battery.  Is this true?  It would be costly mistake if I needed to remove them due to such a cold winter climate.  What do you do??

Admin note:  Subject line edited to clarify type of battery—Verna, T@B Admin

Comments

• webers3webers3 Member Posts: 402
    edited October 2019
    I remove mine and every so often connect battery tender to keep it charged, I would remove it regardless of what type it is
    2017 T@B 320S   2019 Jeep Cherokee - Southern Connecticut
  • Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 2,861
    You should be fine if you fully charge your battery before putting your trailer away for the winter months.  The AGM batteries are more susceptible to heat and are supposed to perform better in temperatures down near -40°F.   As noted by Weber 3 above, a battery tender is a great way to keep the battery fully charged and float the charge as needed while not in use during the winter months.  
    Mike - Elmira, Mi / 2019 T@B 400 / 2021 Chevy Silverado LTZ
  • CbusguyCbusguy Member Posts: 771
    I always have removed batterys from anything being stored over the winter and brought inside the house.    be it a motorcycle, Rv, boat or spare car.   

2009 GMC Canyon,   3.7 liter 
    2020 320s Boondock lite, With Lots of mods
  • ecstaticecstatic Member Posts: 65
    Can anyone comment on the proper order of events to unscrew the terminals from the batteries?
    2020 T@B 400 BDL    2019 Silverado 5.3L V8
    Chili, NY
  • pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,604
    edited October 2019