New to electric brakes

Hello, I have just purchased a '19 TAB 400, and I have installed a DrawTite brake controller on my TV.   

I have never used electric brakes on a trailer before.  I have turned the gain on the controller up as far as it goes, and manually testing it from about 5mph I get a very gradual (graceful) stop even when moving the controller's manual activation lever immediately to its full travel.  Walking beside the trailer, I can hear the Tab's brakes activate and release, but there is not a lot of stopping power.

When I fully activate the trailer brakes manually, using the controller, what should the braking force feel like?  

Comments

• BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    edited January 2020
    @Intrinsic, I do not have your make of brake controller (I have a Prodigy), but it is important that you set the power according to the manufacturer's instructions.

For best performance, you need to warm the brakes slightly before setting the power.  You can do that by driving a short distance (approximately 1/4 mile) at 45 mph with the manual lever engaged about halfway.  After that, follow the manufacturer's instructions.  You will probably initially set the power gain about halfway and then likely be instructed to drive at about 20-25 mph on a flat level surface and fully apply the manual knob/lever.  If the brakes lock up, the power is set too high.  If the trailer wheels turn freely, it is too low.  At the 20-25 mph speed, you want the brakes to grab and slow the trailer, but not lock up.

Testing the braking power at 5 mph is insufficient to properly set the controller.  Again, review and follow your specific manufacturer's instructions.  If you don't have a copy, look online for one.  Otherwise,  contact the brake installer for a copy or help with setting the controller.  The installer should have given you a basic overview of the controller operation.