Options

Splitting Electrical Supply

staha1205staha1205 Member Posts: 7
I am going on my maiden voyage with my new t@b 320 in a couple of weeks and will be joined by my friend in her camper van! Super exciting stuff. We will just be out for the weekend, but it'll be plenty because boy is it going to be hot! We will probably need to run our AC a lot in this awful Florida heat. The problem is there is only one 30a / 120v plug at the site. Will we be able to split the power somehow? She also uses 30a in her van. I was hoping we could use one of those dogbone y adapters with 30a male to two 30a female, but the more i think about it the more it seems like that won't work? It seems the two plugged in at once could either provide insufficient power to the campers or draw too much power and overload their electrical. Or it could be bad in some other unfathomable way. Like I said, I'm a newbie and I dont want to do something stupid! Will using a dogbone like the one I described above work? If not, are there any suggestions or tips on making it possible for both campers to use the same outlet? Or is one of us going to need to boondock this trip? Thanks in advance!

Shireen / 2019 T@B 320 CS-S / 2020 Subaru Outback Onyx XT / Gainesville, Florida

Comments

• Options
    ChrisFixChrisFix Member Posts: 725
    edited July 2020
    The key thing to remember is that your total 'supply' of electricity is 30 amps...if you try to draw more than that, the breaker at the pedestal you are plugged in to will trip - which isn't the end of the world - you'll simply need to turn off the item drawing too much power and reset the breaker (flip it off and on again).
    Running two air conditioners might work from 30 amps depending on how much they draw, but that is definitely pushing the limits of a 30 amp circuit.