Options

Alde maintenance

NanabirdieNanabirdie Member Posts: 17
I have a 2021 T@B 320S. My Alde manual states that every 10 days, steps should be taken to maintain an "air cushion" in the system. The instructions say to open the relief valve for a mere 10 seconds, while the "Notes" box state that the tank must be drained. I've been using the heat on and off now for 2 months and have not done this maintenance once. Is it necessary in the T@B 320? if so, which steps do you perform, and if I haven't done it...what are the risks? My dealer never mentioned it.

Comments

• Options
    BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    edited February 2021
    @Nanabirdie, I have seen no benefit in draining the entire tank.  The whole idea is to create an air cushion.  I take that to mean a bit of air space at upper level of the tank.  Therefore, since Alde provides no rationale for draining the entire tank, I just open the relief valve for about 10 seconds or so approximately every 10 days.  Alde does not explain what will happen if you don't at least do that, but it is very easy to do, so I would recommend doing the "10-10" (my mnemonic, not Alde's) routine to be safe.  But, as always, I am interested to hear any contrary input that others may have on the subject.
    2019 T@B 320 S Boondock Lite2007 Toyota Tundra 4x4
    (Alde: 3020; Refrig: Isotherm Cruise 65 Eleg; Battery: BB 100Ah LiFePo4; Solar: Renogy 100Ah Suitcase; Victron BMV-712; Pwr Cntr: PD-4135KW2B; EMS: PI-HW30C)
    Greg & Marlene (Tucson, AZ)

• Options
    edited February 2021