Options

bear country camping

ChanWChanW Member Posts: 3,158
edited December 2014 in Tips & Tricks
How secure is the Tab itself in bear country? If there are food smells in the Tab, and we've taken off for a day hike, is a bear so bold as to try to get into a camper? 

I've seen a bear break open an aluminum cooler in a National Park CG, and the Tab wouldn't be too much more difficult.

I understand that leaving your cooler in the back of an open pickup is asking for trouble. What about those folks who have a Jeep with a canvas top? In that case, stashing your cooler in the TV would be useless, wouldn't it?

Obviously, I'm new to camping in bear country....
Chan  -  near Buffalo NY
2014 S Maxx
2011 Tacoma 4cyl ... edit: 2022 Tacoma 6cyl - oh yeah! 

A_Little_T@b'll_Do_Ya

Comments

• Options
    MercatorMercator Member Posts: 237

Several methods of keeping food, garbage and smelly items away from bears:

·  You can hang your food pack away from your camping area between two trees. Some parks such as Yosemite do not allow hanging of food on interior camping trips.

·  If you are on a canoe trip with multiple canoes, I have heard of people putting their food pack in one canoe and anchoring it away from shore, tied to a rope so they can pull the rope and retrieve the canoe. This can only be done if you have multiple canoes for two reasons. 1) if the bear gets your food, they will also be near the canoe. 2) if a bear gets your food from the canoe, the canoe may be damaged and may not be in a condition to get you out of the wilderness.

·  Leave your food on an island away from your campsite. I have done this once when there was a small island not too far from camp. We paddled to the island, left the food and then camped on the main land. Bears can swim, but you will be safe to watch from a distance.

·  Strap your bear barrel to a tree away from camp.