trailer brakes with 4 pins?

steveastevea Member Posts: 7
I am a RV newbie who asks newbie type questions. We purchased a T@B 320S from Nucamp. It has an Autowbrake electric brake controller and a 7 pin trailer connection. Our tow vehicle is a Subaru Outback 2015 with a 4 pin connection. The T@B dealer supplied us with a 7-to-4 pin adapter.  All appears to be properly wired (all the trailer lights work) but I cannot tell whether I have trailer brakes when towing. Question - assuming everything is set up correctly, do i have trailer brakes?

Comments

• jason330ijason330i Member Posts: 72
    stevea said:
    I am a RV newbie who asks newbie type questions. We purchased a T@B 320S from Nucamp. It has an Autowbrake electric brake controller and a 7 pin trailer connection. Our tow vehicle is a Subaru Outback 2015 with a 4 pin connection. The T@B dealer supplied us with a 7-to-4 pin adapter.  All appears to be properly wired (all the trailer lights work) but I cannot tell whether I have trailer brakes when towing. Question - assuming everything is set up correctly, do i have trailer brakes?
    AuTowBrake looks like an interesting brake controller. Similar to an RF brake controller without the RF. Basically an electronic surge brake system. It does not appear to have a manual override though. So it might be hard to determine whether it’s working right. Does the manual have any suggestions on how to test it?

2017 T@b 320 S

2017 Kia Sorento SXL AWD

• ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,391
    edited October 2017
    Nope. The 4-pin connectors are strictly for the lights. The 7-pin connectors add circuits for electric brakes, 12V camper power/battery charging, and back-up lights or other auxiliary devices.

In order for that extra stuff to work, you would need to have a properly wired 7-pin connector on your Subaru. 
    2015 T@B S
  • Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,460