Benefits to Sway Bar

KayBeeKayBee Member Posts: 4
Hi, Brand new owners of a T@B 400. We'll be picking it up sometime within the next week or two. So exciting! But to my question...we're first time travel trailer owners of any kind. We thought having the sway bar installed might give us peace of mind, since we are absolute newbies at this. If we don't mind spending the money on that, is there any reason not to do it? Thanks in advance. Looking forward to learning lots from this group. We will be towing with a Nissan Pathfinder.
Karen and Bill
St. Joseph, MN
2016 Nissan Pathfinder, 2018 T@B400

Comments

• DalehelmanDalehelman Member Posts: 2,409
    Reposted Fromm another thread.
    IMHO If you’re trailer is loaded properly ie tongue 15%-20% of total weight not to exceed TV or trailer  specifications neither of those things are needed. I would but my money to better use. 
    1. Hash  T@B Fun
  • MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,580
    KayBee said:
    ...we're first time travel trailer owners of any kind. We thought having the sway bar installed might give us peace of mind, . . . . is there any reason not to do it?

Short answer is No, there is no real negative to having a sway bar installed.  Depending on the type/style of sway bar installed you might have the extra task of disconnecting it before backing up.

Most T@Bbers** don't seem to use sway bars, while many folks do for the same reason you are considering; Peace of Mind, a little extra safety factor. 
    ** It should be noted that today most T@Bbers are towing the smaller/lighter 320 vs. the 400 which has only been available for a short period of time.

I'm also a new T@B owner (have towed boat trailers in the past) and I'm going to use the frequently suggested approach to first do some actual towing*** and see how everything goes/feels before adding something like a sway bar.  Adding a sway bar is not a big deal task.