Introduction and FOUND a camper

Comments

• ArwenArwen Member Posts: 68

[My first forum post: Total newbie, still looking for our first camper]

Hi all.

Last fall, after camping in my little backpacking tent for 5 days in Maine, we decided that it might be time to start shopping for a small camping trailer. [Ok, so perhaps I had been whining just a bit; but I’m pretty sure that the ground was not nearly so hard when I was younger.]

We knew absolutely nothing about camper trailers and there are very few local dealers in Northern NH (likely due to our very long winters), so I’ve been doing a ton of online research. I recently traded in my Honda for a Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk, with a 4500 pound towing capacity, so all we need now is the camper trailer to go with it.

Finding a small, affordable, tough camper has been way more difficult than I had expected, but it looks like the T@B 320 S or the new Little Guy Mini Max might meet our needs. The problem now is deciding on which one might fit us the best.

The little T@B 320 S is my personal first choice, but my boyfriend feels that it would be too small for us (I'm 6 feet tall and he's 6-1, and he's the practical one). My argument is that we've only camped together in my little backpacking tent, so even the 320 is going to seem roomy in comparison.  

I initially considered the T@B 400 and the Little Guy Max, but both seemed a bit larger (and more expensive) than what we wanted. The thing is, I’ve never pulled a trailer before, so I'm nervous about my towing ability (my Jeep will do fine, but I may be a wreck).  When we began stopping at RV dealers, I soon discovered that my fear of pulling seems to be directly proportionate with the size of the camper we look at.

My biggest concern with the 320 S is its 5’9” maximum interior height and the small bathroom (I love everything else about it!). I’ve read all the tall-guy posts here, but I haven’t seen any tall-guy+tall-gal posts.