Options

Real world loaded & hitch weights, 2020 400 BD?

Newbie here looking at possible small trailers that we can tow with out existing vehicle. A factory tow fitted Jeep Cherokee. Rated for 4500lbs towing, 450 hitch weight, & 1000lb payload.

Reckon we're will be on our limits for payload and hitch weight. Our payload will be maxed out with hitch, passengers, and a WDH. 

The latest 400 BD is showing as 372lb wet hitch weight? 

Any folks here know their loaded trailer and hitch weights are on the latest 400 Boondock?   I know there is at least one user here towing a 400 with a Jeep Cherokee.  How much can I lighten the hitch by moving/securing the propane to the rear of the trailer, does a full fresh water tank shift the weight backwards? And of course I'm mindful of maintaining the min 10% load on the hitch.

Thanks for any help..

Comments

• Options
    rh5555rh5555 Member Posts: 487
    We tow a 2020 400 BDL with a 2L Jeep Cherokee with a 4000 lbs tow rating and 400 lb hitch weight.  We already had the TV when we fell in love with the TAB 400.  The major mod that we implemented was to remove the spare tire and its wind-up mechanism from under the tub and mount it on a roof rack on the Cherokee.  Making this change reduced our tongue weight to 350 lbs.  We also moved the propane cylinders back to the floor in front of the bed (where they are strapped in) which reduced the tongue weight to 300 lbs.  (We also didn't get the extra aluminum trays on the tongue, as we'd never put anything on them).  We find the trailer tows really well without a WDH, but you should shorten up your hitch as much as possible, like this: