Options

Bringing a TAB home

jenniferlzrjenniferlzr Member Posts: 59
Hey everybody! I'll be driving 825 miles one way to pick up my new Tab 400. What do I need to bring with me to get it back safely? I know I need to buy a hitch with a 2" ball, and I'm getting a sway bar. I MIGHT stay the night somewhere if I need to. Total novice here.....obviously!  

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,498
    Purchase (and have installed) a class III hitch, a draw bar with the correct drop with a 2 inch ball mount.  Have a 7 pin harness installed on your TV with a charge wire and a brake controller. You should have a jack that fits the 400 to change a tire (or at least road side assistance service).  Consider a 12 v compressor and tire gauge.  Bring chocks (in case you need to unhitch somewhere), a tongue lock, too at a minimum.  Make sure the TaB battery is fully charged before you depart.  
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    Thanks @Sharon_is_SAM

This is what the car has:

On/Off-Road Tires
    Rear Load Leveling Suspension
    "Trail Rated" Badge
    Tow Hooks
    Front Suspension Skid Plate
    Fuel Tank Skid Plate
    Shield Transfer Case Skid Plate
     Underbody Skid Plate
    Trailer Tow Group IV
    Delete Rear Tow Hook
    Full Size Spare Tire
     Quadra-Lift Air Suspension
    Heavy Duty Engine Cooling
    7 and 4 Pin Wiring Harness
    Class IV Receiver Hitch
  • Options
    AirBossAirBoss Member Posts: 740
    edited May 2020
    First, Congrats! Assuming your TV is up to the task (tow capacity of at least 5000lbs, tongue weight of 500#'s) and you'll be spending a night on the road, couple thoughts. You indicated you're a novice so hopefully none of this is "obvious" to you. There are a myriad of things to consider and no doubt others on here will offer some very good advice...as they always do!