Options

Total newbie, looking at purchasing a 2006-2008 T@B

OchkyOchky Member Posts: 3
Total newbie over here, with absolutely zero towing or RVing experience.  Love to camp, but realizing that we'd probably like something more than a tent for our 3-person family (plus dog), and the older T@Bs seem to fit the profile - I don't want plumbing in a trailer, so the older Dutchmen T@Bs seem to be exactly what we're looking for (queen-ish size bed, no plumbing, relatively light weight). We'll be towing with a 2018 Outback 3.6 for the time being, although likely upgrading that to something like a 4Runner at some point sooner rather than later.  In the meantime, i plan on looking at a couple potential trailers from private sellers in the next few weeks.  I've read through a lot of the forum, and there's a ton of great information which has been exceptionally valuable already.  Having said that, hoping there are some owners of older DM Tabs here who can point out a few things I should make sure to look for, consider, be aware of, etc while looking at prospective trailers to purchase.
Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    VictoriaPVictoriaP Member Posts: 1,492
    edited August 2020
    Since you have no experience at all with RVs, I strongly recommend having any trailer you’re serious about examined by a professional. If that isn’t possible, a friend or relative with experience in restoring old RVs, or dealing with vintage propane appliances and 12v electrical systems is recommended. It’s way too easy to bring home a trailer you fell in love with only to find you have a total rebuild on your hands. Been there, done that (twice, never again!)