Options

How to use electrical hookup? Amperage?

Totally new to the world of trailering and have, so far, only boondocked. 

I have been teleworking from my dining room table since March and need a change of scenery to protect my sanity!  I am thinking of heading out to a campground with electrical hookup so I can plug in my computer.  I have had no difficulty plugging my trailer into shore power at home, but looking at campgrounds I see different amperage availabilities.  What amperage is appropriate for my 2018 320S?  If I am plugged into shore power at a campground, I should be able to plug in my laptop in the trailer outlets with no problem, right?  (I would take my surge suppressor.)

Hate to ask such a basic question, but electricity just isn't my strong suit.  I'm a biologist, not an electrician!

Thanks.
2018 T@B 320 S Boondock  |  2015.5 Volvo XC60 T6 AWD  |  Seattle, WA, USA
"Blessed are the curious, for they shall have adventures.”― Lovelle Drachman

Comments

• Options
    VictoriaPVictoriaP Member Posts: 1,492
    edited November 2020
    The cable that came with your Tab is a 30 amp cable, and that’s your preferred amperage. You can only use 50 amp or 15 amp if you have the correct adapters—all three power types have very different outlets/plugs.

If you’re headed out this weekend, check the overnight temps at your destination. My weather shows a couple nights below freezing coming up.
    2019 320s BD Lite, white with blue (“Haven”)
    2015 Subaru Outback 3.6r (unsafe 200lb tongue weight limit until 2020 models)
    2020 Subaru Outback XT
    Pacific NW
  • Options
    Denny16Denny16 Member Posts: 5,445