Options

Axle question - do we need to put 320 CS on blocks?

mmcneil72mmcneil72 Member Posts: 46
Friend insists that our 2017 T@B 320 CS should be up on blocks - i.e. on jack stands so trailer wheels and axle aren't bearing the weight of the T@B.  Is this true?  Friend is a long-time RVer and experienced mechanic, so seems like a good idea.  Something about avoiding stress on the axle's torque arm?

At some point we may consider swapping in a Boondock style axle as we love camping but don't like the trailer park style campground very much, so 'rough' camping (aka overland etc.) preferred.

(Full disclosure - complete noobs to RVing but T@B performed like a champ during initial Rocky Mountain family camp out, including torrential rain the first night.)

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,650
    Does the mechanic friend put his cars up on blocks?
    2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    mmcneil72mmcneil72 Member Posts: 46
    Something something about the T@B's axle wearing out prematurely from just sitting on its tires.  Greek to me - don't really know who made the axle.  Has the nice cast rims, new or very recent tires.  Have space to park it and/or jack it up.
  • Options
    AnOldURAnOldUR Member Posts: 1,277
    The T@B struts are for stabilizing and should not be used to support the weight of the trailer. Never try to lift the trailer with them. It will cause damage to the stabilizer. Once level, drop them down and add a small amount of additional pressure. Just enough to keep it from rocking when you’re inside.
    Stockton, New Jersey
    2020 nuCamp T@B 320S * Jeep Wrangler

• Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,427
    The axle is what is commonly known as a torsion axle--suspension is provided by internal rubber blocks (or something similar) that resist and dampen the motion of the swingarm to which the wheel is mounted.