Trailer Brakes HELP - TV is 2022 Subaru Wilderness towing Tab 320-S BD Edge 2020

Hi All!!
I am completely new to group, but have spent many hrs reading the wealth of information you all have provided.  I bought a 2022 Subaru Wilderness last year, with tow hitch installed, comes with 4 pin. Towing weight is 3500#.  I was not really ready to buy a trailer just yet, but came across a wonderful deal on a 2020 Tab 320S that had been taken care of and maintained really well. My brother has a 2021 and I know this little gem is what I wanted, and could tow with my car.  So to my question or advice.... I know that I need to get my 4 pin rewired to a 7 pin, which Subaru dealer can do.... but I am so confused on what to do about trailer brakes. For those who dont have a brake controller already pre installed in your car, what have you done? The thought of anything being drilled and installed inside my car makes me ill... My first goal this year is to get comfortable towing the TaB around locally and doing small trips while I figure out how the car pulls, how to load everything correctly... and most of all backing up into camp spots..  Thanks in advance.

Comments

• VictoriaPVictoriaP Member Posts: 1,489
    I use a Tekonsha Prodigy RF wireless brake controller with my Outback/320 combo. No in-car installation required. Curt also makes a wireless controller.

Be sure to get a tongue weight scale and use it routinely. Tongue weight is the biggest issue with using any 3500 lb towing capacity vehicle, since it’s not at all uncommon to reach 300+ lbs on a later model 320 tongue once the trailer is loaded.

We have a wealth of information on this forum for you, and plenty of solo and first time RVers. You’re in the right place!
    2019 320s BD Lite, white with blue (“Haven”)
    2015 Subaru Outback 3.6r (unsafe 200lb tongue weight limit until 2020 models)
    2020 Subaru Outback XT
    Pacific NW
  • AnOldURAnOldUR Member Posts: 1,272
    edited January 2023