Options

Sherline scale or Deco Load Checker to weigh trailers?

YanniLazarusYanniLazarus Member Posts: 343
edited March 2023 in Trailer & Towing
I am considering buying a Sherline tongue weight scale (2,000 lb. capacity)  to really start paying attention to my 320S weight distribution. No issues, I'm sure, using it as directed to measure tongue weight, but I'd also like to use it to measure weight at each axle end. My guess is I need to weigh at the welded steel jacking angles.  Go ahead and laugh now- would it work to set/ block the scale in place and lower the trailer onto the scale by letting air out of the tires? My "emergency" jacking system is a pain to set up and use. Any hope for getting an accurate reading? Any worry for hurting the tires? I think my tongue weight is around 8 percent- and I have been towing without issue for approaching 3 years. 
Yanni Lazarus 2020 T@B320S, 2018 RAV4 Adventure, Central CT

Comments

• Options
    Yoshi_TABYoshi_TAB Member Posts: 372
    edited March 2023
    Hi, 

You can buy the tongue weight scale, but you can also use a bathroom scale and some wood (and a bit of     :o  math ).   I've used this method and got 360 lbs for my tongue weight.  I bought a scale at Target and just keep it for use to occasionally measure tongue weight if I makes changes.  Just do it on flat ground, chock your wheels and measure.  The sherline is a bit easier,but either method will work.  Don't think you need to let any air out of the tires.  Why do you think you need to do that?  I just unhitched on top of the scale (w/o jockey wheel).  The video says 5' , but I used 3' and multiplied by 3 vs. 5.

How To Measure Any Trailer Tongue Weight With A Regular Bathroom Scale - YouTube
    2021 TAB 320 BD
    2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee
    Southern Maryland
  • Options
    Yoshi_TAB said:
    Hi,