Options

Outback Spare under bed or on trailer tongue?

FloridalohaFloridaloha Member Posts: 68
Newbie here taking delivery of a T@B Outback in August. I'm trying to determine a better place for the spare than on the Yakima rack. Will the oversized tire fit in the passenger compartment under the bed? I'm thinking if it will, I'll keep it there while I'm just doing weekend familiarity trips, and then maybe when I plan a longer trip and need more storage, move it to the trailer tongue. The tongue weight of my vehicle is 350 pounds so I'm thinking that this could work later on if I need the space under the bed. 

Any comments/suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    edited June 2016
    If you search on "spare tire" you'll find several threads - I have mine mounted to the side of the frame up front. Others mount it crosswise attached to the jack. A few have had it inside but didn't like the smell of rubber - It actually ships from the factory under the bed, at least the std size does.
  • Options
    edited June 2016
    Thanks, I did a search for spare tire and tire mounting and Outback tire and a few other parameters, and didn't find an answer for the Outback sized tire. I'm also buying my T@B off the lot and right now it's mounted on the rack. I really don't want to keep it there. I suppose I could wrap it in plastic or something to keep the rubber smell down. 

• Options
    PhotomomPhotomom Member Posts: 2,217