sanitizing 2021 400 water system

We're a week into the nuCamp family now. I'm completely new to all these glamping accessories we're dealing with now. It's been fun learning the systems and figuring things out, but also a bit frustrating with the manual so out of date. I hope there is an update soon. Anyhow, I'm at a point where I'd like to sanitize our water system for the first time. I wanted to go through the draining process first, so I opened all the faucets and tank drain (located behind driver side tire) and the hot and cold low point valves on the nautilus system (at bottom center of photo). Everything drained well.

To drain the hot water tank, do I also need to open this drain plug that's below the Alde?

And to bypass the Alde during sanitation do I need to close these valves (located in the compartment with the Alde)?

2021 T@B 400 BDL aka Little Joe
2019 Tundra Crewmax aka Hoss
SE Louisiana

Comments

• BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    edited March 2020
    @cottonmouth, NO!!..........do not open the valve with the red cap.  Glad you asked.  It is the main/low drain for your Alde glycol fluid tank.  You would only need to do that when completely draining (and replacing) the Alde fluid.  Every couple years or so.  You can search on this forum for discussions about that.

You DO want to bypass the Alde tank when sanitizing the fresh water system, because bleach can damage the interior of the hot water tank (although once or twice won't be a problem, should you accidentally do that.)  I do not have the valve configuration you have (I have a 320 S), so maybe somebody has a photo that will clearly show you which valves to close to bypass the hot water tank.
    2019 T@B 320 S Boondock Lite2007 Toyota Tundra 4x4
    (Alde: 3020; Refrig: Isotherm Cruise 65 Eleg; Battery: BB 100Ah LiFePo4; Solar: Renogy 100Ah Suitcase; Victron BMV-712; Pwr Cntr: PD-4135KW2B; EMS: PI-HW30C)
    Greg & Marlene (Tucson, AZ)

• cottonmouthcottonmouth Member Posts: 91