Coupler - Receiver Combo Locks

TNOutbackTNOutback Member Posts: 633
After 12+ years, my coupler pin lock is getting difficult to unlock/remove, and I know I’m a trip or few away from having to remove it with a hacksaw.  When it goes, so does the receiver pin since they are keyed alike.  In the market for a new set of robust, stainless steel keyed-alike locks, and wondering what others can recommend.  I realize this is sort of like asking what your favorite dog breed is, but oh well.  Lots of options out there, lots of no-name knockoffs too. I’m more concerned about the receiver pin since it secures a B&W hitch that stays in the receiver; it needs to be somewhat theft-deterrent. The coupler pin is really just to ensure the coupler stays secured while traveling.

Comments

• BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    edited August 2020
    @TNOutback, this is what I have been using since Jan 2019 on my 320 S.  So far, so good.  I try to take extra care not to lose the rubber covers, because they are what keep dirt, etc., out of the barrel-key entry.

The coupler lock is the Trimax SXTC2 (2 1/2" span.)  The receiver lock is the Trimax SXT5 (3 1/2" span.)  Both are stainless steel.

NOTE:  I originally wanted a "keyed-alike" set, so I purchased the Trimax "SXTM32" set.  Actually, that set is depicted in the photo below, but the appearance and design of the locks is identical to what I am using.  However, when I received the set, I discovered that the included receiver lock was the model #SXT3, which has a shorter span (3".)  That was too short to work with my particular receiver.  It appears that my OEM receiver that came with my Toyota Tundra tow package is probably about 1/2" wider than other receivers.

Therefore, I had to return the set and separately order the SXT5 version (which has a 1/2" longer span) and SXTC2 coupler lock.  Unless things have changed since Jan 2019, Trimax does not sell a keyed-alike set for my particular application.