Corrosion of Alde Convectors

Comments

• fstop32fstop32 Member Posts: 361
    Forgive me, I'm a newbie... I was reading through this awesome thread prepping for a fluid change and wondered if anyone had encountered "the bulges"...  I found at least one bulging heater hose connection at each convector.  Being an old auto mechanic I knew bulges are NOT a good thing. Upon diving in, as I always do, I discovered my fear was well-founded.  I've tried to add a pic, hope it works.  I've also contacted Alde Service and have started emailing with Truma/Alde on what to do.  Just wondering if anyone else has run into this and what my future might hold.

DaveR middleTN - 2015 320S  /  TV 2003 Tundra 4x4
  • Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,460
    Has the Alde been working?  Any leaks?  Are you the original owner?  What glycol has been used?  Did you drain the Alde?
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 834
    edited March 2021
     :o oh no that looks bad. Sorry no advice. 
    I purchased it July 2020 and used it several time and heat work fine then i noticed a bulge in a heater hose at this connection.  Not long after that it began a slow leak.  Since first post I've removed all the convectors and they all have corrosion damage and will have to be replaced.  I haven't removed and inspected the boiler yet but I suspect it will also have problems.  Oh well, glad I've got time before our next trip! 8^)
  • ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,396
    @ fstop32, I can't put my finger on the discussion, but someone recently reported corrosion in a different part of the Alde system. I think the T@B was bit newer. That's the only other report of Alde corrosion I can recall on the forum.