Permanent Side to Side Sleeping for T@B 320 S

2»

Comments

• SolidCamperSolidCamper Member Posts: 20
    @AnOldUR I found your modification very interesting. Your excellent photos have helped me to understood better what's going on back there.  I'm relatively new to my TAB and was unclear, until reading your post, where exactly the glycol tank was, and how the heat exits or doesn't :). My TAB is of the same vintage as yours, and I plan to check it for proper venting when I return to it.
    Can I ask- what is the actual final width of the bed?
    MarvinD- Newton, MA, USA  2020 T@B 320S Boondock Lite/ TV: 2013 Chevy Avalanche 
  • AnOldURAnOldUR Member Posts: 1,272
    edited March 2021
    @SolidCamper ... Thanks. Lots of informative pictures and info posted here by other forum members too.

We did cut the length of the mattress yesterday. Made it a much better fit. It’s now a 70.5” long x 54” wide.

I got a lot of negative feedback on relocating the glycol expansion tank, but it’s been working fine that way for over a week with no noticeable down side. Time will tell, but I see no reason to change it.

Good luck!
    Stockton, New Jersey
    2020 nuCamp T@B 320S * Jeep Wrangler

• ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,396
    It seems to me that so long as the "upper" mark on the glycol tank is above the top of the Alde (specifically the top of the Alde's internal glycol chamber), everything should work fine.

I suppose if the camper was tipped nose up at an extreme angle, the top of the tank could end up below the Alde, and glycol would overflow the tank. This may be the reason Alde recommends the spacing that they do.

It's also possible the increased height creates a standpipe effect that facilitates the return of glycol from the tank to the Alde, but I would think the circulator pump would be adequate to keep the glycol moving.  
    2015 T@B S