Options

Strengthening poorly built rear seat benches

ChopinChopin Member Posts: 40
edited April 2021 in Modifications & Upgrades
Our 2021 Tab 320 is amazing. But unfortunately, the rear bench seats (that cover the Alde and the AC unit) were extremely poorly built, and both broke within weeks. They did not have enough reinforcement and were put together mostly with staples. NuCamp was very helpful and replaced one under warranty (I didn't ask them to replace the second since it was less serious). My understanding is they were made by a subcontractor. However since I anticipated that they would probably just break again, I decided to take them apart and strengthen them. I was able to remove the upholstery by taking out all the staples then pull out the wooden frame. I then took this apart and put it back together using wood glue and clamping it overnight. I then added metal corner braces and additional wooden cross braces. I am by no means an expert carpenter but it wasn't that hard and now they are absolutely solid. Before/after photos attached. 

Comments

• Options
    4ncar4ncar Member Posts: 1,072
    Short of taking mine apart, but how were the frames previously secured? I only see 2 pocket screws. These, when used at each joint are surprisingly strong. 

Your solution should work well. Sorry you had to do it!😒
    TV- '16 Chevy Colorado LT Crew Cab-DuraMax
    2018 320S Outback
  • Options
    The screws provided little strength because the wood is of rather poor quality. They broke right through. There were also screws at the corner joints. But that’s exactly where the breakages happened. Other than that the flat panel was held to the frame just with some flimsy staples. The combination of glue and screwed in metal braces and additional wooden span is now very strong. We’ve had no more issues. 
  • Options
    TampakayakerTampakayaker Member Posts: 554
    @Chopin, nice job. 
    I see you have a workshop like mine.