Options

Solar considerations for beginners

racheldagovitzracheldagovitz Member Posts: 5
Hi all,
I have a new Tab 320CS and I'm new to camping. I plan to do boondocking and would like to get solar set up.  Seems pretty overwhelming trying to figure out what I need.  Would like to hear about folks' experience with setting up their solar. What is the minimum system set up that I should get?  Is there a scalable system so I can upgrade as needed.  
Thanks for your info.
Rachel

Comments

• Options
    RTWCTSRTWCTS Member Posts: 111
    edited April 2023
    Years ago, we started with a Renogy 100W briefcase that had a built in controller (PWM style), a 30-foot extension cable (10 Gauge), a connector and an SAE plug in the side of the tub. As we gained experience with solar, I disconnected the controller from the briefcase and installed one (MPPT style) inside the tub of the 320 we had at the time.
    We now own 4 briefcases (400Watts total) and with a few connectors can hook them up in a variety of ways to meet the solar conditions. In short, the Renogy briefcases are scalable (We also bought a 400 with rooftop solar).
    There are now a variety of brands that are available, some that are cheaper than Renogy. I cannot attest to their scalability. Renogy has worked over the years we've owned them.
    2023 TAB 400 Boondock
    2018 T@B 320 Sold
    Racing the Wind and Chasing the Sun
  • Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,658
    edited April 2023
    I've always had dirt simple, individual components.  I've always used Renogy panels. I started with a 12 dollar solar controller, which is battered to death...but still works. (It has been semi retired).  I do have better controllers now (2 of them) but my connections and cables are pretty simple. 
    You can get all wrapped up in the MPPT/PWM/LineLoss/SAE connector abyss. ( I did..and it took a year to get over it....and discovered it hardly mattered. Or, at least not as much as I expected it would.)