Options

Dumb questions regarding bed slat install

I'm new to handling power tools, and such, so bear with me.  If the bed slats are 3/4 inch pieces, how far down from the top edge should I place the rail?  The reason I ask, is that there is a little plastic finish piece at the top edge of the seat.  I also ask because the seat cushions seem to be recessed a bit.  I want a smooth sleeping area.

Also, what size and length of wood screw should I use to install the rails?  The rail itself is 3/4 inches think, and the bench supports are 1 3/8 inches.  How many screws per side?  Do I screw in from the outside of the bench, or the inside?  If inside, how does one contend with the Alde vent on the passenger side?  I have a 2015 Max S.

Thanks in advance,

Comments

• Options
    John_and_KrisJohn_and_Kris Member Posts: 302
    I did ours the "hard way" I took slats and then the table I made and we held a slat with cushion on it and marked where it was level. Be careful on the passenger side not to cover the vent area. We then measured where screws would go into support wood  and planned for correct screw lengths to go thru rail, the bench support and then the 2x4 or support wood behind that. On the Passenger side I had to cut some wood away from the rail to expose the vent area We made our own rails. The PV ones may take that area into account. All in all not that bad just measure  and locate. We use the Lagun Table system and made the table so it would double as a bed "slat"
    John - Kris & our Golden "Blossom"
    South Carolina
    Live simply,Love generously,Care deeply,Speak Kindly,Leave the rest to God
  • Options
    ericnlizericnliz Member Posts: 4,437