Options

Towing with Ford Ranger 4 cylinder

AdrienneAdrienne Member Posts: 27
Hello, I'm just beginning my journey into the world of RV camping. I have a 4 cylinder extended cab 2009 Ford Ranger with an automatic transmission. Does anybody have any experience pulling a T@B 320 with this vehicle, or a similar one. The dealer is telling me it would be okay, but it might be slow going on Hills. I don't want to put to much stress on my truck so that it is damaged. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,484
    You will be happier pulling with a V6 and less risk to damage to your truck.
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    jgram2jgram2 Member Posts: 1,522
    Here’s a site with towing information for the 2009 ranger. It’s a place to start your inquiry-max capacity varies a lot depending upon the specific truck you have. Some folks tow with 4 cylinder engines with eco boost, whatever that is -:).

http://www.new-cars.com/2009/ford/specs/ranger.html#towing
    John, Judi, Guinness & OD in PDX
    T@Bit@t 2015 S Max Outback, ‘18 V6 4Runner 

• Options
    A new vehicle is not an option. And my Ranger does not have EcoBoost. 😞
  • Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,417
    A loaded T@B 320 would be pretty close to the 2240lb towing capacity given on the spreadsheet.

I towed a lighter trailer (~1500lbs) with a similarly powered 4-cylinder Nissan Frontier rated for 3000lbs. It was definitely slow-going on the hills. Your truck will work hard and you won't win any races, but if you stay within the specs you'll eventually get from point A to point B.

I don't believe EcoBoost has any bearing on your towing ability.
    2015 T@B S

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,484