Options

Curt echo

AceAce Member Posts: 23
Anyone using a curt echo with an Audi Q7 or Q5? I have a 400 on order and am concerned with the angles down with the 7 pin and if there is enough clearance.

Comments

• Options
    PolanskysterPolanskyster Member Posts: 46
    edited November 2020
    I've been using it for the past 2 months and it has been very buggy.  Found out today from my Audi dealer that the Curt Echo is not compatible with the 2020 Audi Q5 factory installed tow equipment.  Only option to tow the T@B 400 is a hard wired brake controller.  Wish Curt would have stopped advertising that it is compatible with my car before I purchased the Echo.
    2021 T@B 400, 2020 Audi Q5 
    Portland, OR
  • Options
    CharlieRNCharlieRN Member Posts: 439
    I tow a 400 with my 2020 Q5 using the curt echo.  The dealer here in Portland reconfigured the connection so that the echo plugs directly into the 400.  The other end of the echo plugs into cables that plug into the Q5. The Echo seems to be working pretty good since I’ve been using it over the past 2 months.
    Not Audi related but instead a more general question about a BlueTooth controller like the Echo. I've heard that one drawback is that your phone may not give you immediate access to the manual brake override in an emergency situation. Have you needed to access the Echo in that kind of situation and did you have any issues?
    2021 T@B 320 S Boondock / 2022 Telluride - Phillies/Eagles/Flyers Country
  • Options
    Denny16Denny16 Member Posts: 5,445
    edited October 2020
    I use the Echo with our TaB400, and the new firmware added a setting to eliminate brake pulsing when the emergency flashers were on, this was the only drawback I initially had.