Options

Good Question about a Bad Battery

ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,421
Through ignorance and inattention, I killed the original battery that came with my T@B. Well, it's definitely dead, but I'm wondering if it was really all that healthy to start with.

When we first got the T@B it sat in the yard with the battery connected for two (maybe three) weeks. Everything in the camper went dead, and the battery measured a whopping 1.5V across the terminals before I charged it up and hit the road. This happened two (maybe three) times before I wised up and started disconnecting the battery between trips. Despite the early insult, the battery still performed for a couple of late-season, four-day boondocking trips (though it was down to 10-11V when we broke camp). Over the winter, I've disconnected the battery and kept it on a float charger, but it drops to below 12V within a day or two of being removed.

While I have plenty of experience with starting batteries, I'm new to this deep cycle business. Does what I've described sound like a normal death spiral for an abused battery? I know there is phantom drain, but I'm a bit suspicious of the degree to which the battery discharged, and the time it took to do it.

Our camping buddies have an R-Pod that's several years old and still enjoys the services of its original battery. Though they camp frequently, they have never disconnected the battery outside of winter storage.

Battery gurus, any wise thoughts?
2015 T@B S

Comments

• Options
    RatkityRatkity Member Posts: 3,770