Options

Good Question about a Bad Battery

2»

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    You said there was an empty "propane tank" not the cover/tub - they're different.
  • Options
    GrandmasKidGrandmasKid Member Posts: 160
    jkjenn said:
    I am beginning to think it's a rite of passage to kill your first RV battery. I killed mine. Yes, that first drain probably did it in. I am really glad that LG has started including a battery monitor so people can see their status but it seems as though no dealers are doing a thorough battery education.
    I too am learning the hard way. After doing some research here I opted for a 160 watt Zamp solar panel but my dealer wouldn't, and said they couldn't, put in anything larger than a group 24, 79Ah, AGM battery. Perhaps it was never fully charged as I've never seen it above 12.1 volts. Now I'm shopping for a battery charger. I'm a newbie but I'm learning. May I get some recommendations on a charger? I'm thinking it should be able to push 10-15 amps initially and then charge in stages, maintain and test my AGM battery, be small enough to carry, and not cost an arm and a leg. Thanks for any thoughts and advice you can give.
    2021 400 Boondock/ 2021 Toyota Tacoma Off Road
  • Options
    lapowers57lapowers57 Member Posts: 186
    GrandmasKid - The first change I made was to buy a grp 24 100ah battery for my T@B.  I  believe this is the best you can do without modifying something on the T@B.  I also have the Zamp 160 panels and this has been a good combination for the little bit of camping I have done.  I threw the original battery into my Jon boat since I needed a new starting batter anyways.  
    2016 T@B M@X S grey/red 16 Foot Airstream, towed by 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 4x4, Central Connecticut

• Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,446