Options

Newbie Pains

Jaxie985Jaxie985 Member Posts: 49
Shakedown cruise over, Gatsby and I have headed out. Either I’m confident all will be well and I’ll deal with experiences as they come, or I’m blind stupid headed into disaster. I prefer the former mindset. 
Still haven’t mastered the refrigerator lighting on propane, despite doing EXACTLY what I’m told will work. In the interim, I have purchased a fairly decent cooler and merely transfer perishable food to it between plug in stops. Eventually I’ll get to the NuCamp factory and see what they can do or it will light reliably when I try. Grrr... 
I feel like I’d be happier with an electric source other than expensive campgrounds. Solar or generator? If you have a generator, do you just run it for a little while? I don’t use the AC or TV and have no appliances other than an extra lamp or two. I think solar would be better but want it beefy enough to run the fridge (see propane problem above). I have no experience with electrical things so haven’t a clue about running wires, etc. 200W solar plus 2 6 volt golf batteries plus an  inverter seems to be what I need. No longer having a home to which things can be shipped, I face the dilemma of how to get these things?
2018 T@B 320 Boondock 
2018 Nissan Frontier
Kennebunk, ME USA

Comments

• Options
    jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,391
    @Jaxie985 so sorry for shakedown woes!! I understand the fridge frustration. Sometimes it is user error, sometimes it is Norcold. Why don't you share, exactly what you are doing and perhaps we can help. 

My fridge stressed me out the entire first year, so I get it!

2021 T@b 320 Boondock "Mattie Ross" | 2021 T@b Nights: 239 | Total nights in a T@b 455 | 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland | T@b owner since 2014

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,496