Options

Making use of the Roof Rack

My 2019 320 S Boondock Edge comes with a Yakima roof rack.. but the 2019 Boondock edge put the tire over in a custom holder on the tab so from the looks of it, it's just the rails?

Just wondering what other folks have done with theirs..   It feels like I"m staring at a blank canvas here

(the image is lifted from the dealership where I bought my camper.. and is of my specific unit)

~Tananda

2019 T@B 320 S Boondock Edge  named "Binky" | TV: 2016 Chevy Colorado Z71 with full tow package and a Leer Cap for lots of storage

I'm New to nuCamp and TearDrops but have owned a Class A in the past

Comments

• Options
    MarcelineMarceline Member Posts: 1,503
    I think there's a weight limit. I wouldn't exceed it.
    I saw someone put a longer box on it, but my impression is that anything that's above the roof line (especially something sticking up kind of vertically) would have a negative impact on gas mileage.
    I think that if I had those rails, I'd be tempted to get a soft cargo bag and use it for carrying things like folding chairs, tables, awnings, sunshades, etc. 
    https://www.yakima.com/product-type/cargo-bags

San Francisco Bay Area
    2013 CS-S us@gi
    Battered but trusty 3.5l V6 Hyundai Santa Fe
    2015 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Double Cab
  • Options
    DigitalSorceressDigitalSorceress Member Posts: 213
    Marceline said:
    I think there's a weight limit. I wouldn't exceed it.
    I think that if I had those rails, I'd be tempted to get a soft cargo bag and use it for carrying things like folding chairs, tables, awnings, sunshades, etc.
    Ahh yes, I imagine there might be a weight limit though I know that older models mounted a spare there so it's not .. tiny

Thanks for the bag suggestion and the link - I'll check that out

~Tananda

2019 T@B 320 S Boondock Edge  named "Binky" | TV: 2016 Chevy Colorado Z71 with full tow package and a Leer Cap for lots of storage

• Options