Options

Surge protection / EMS

CharlieRNCharlieRN Member Posts: 439
With the delivery of our T@B 320 BD about a month away, I'm trying to get ready to pick up the camper. I just had the TV checked out and some deferred work done (new wheel bearings and a rear differential rebuild). I'm now trying to get a  handle on some of the needed accessories, starting with an electrical power management system. Since I'm new to trailer camping, I have a number of questions.
It looks to me that for the 320, a 30 amp unit is fine. Is this the case or is there a reason to go to 50 amps?
Plug-in or hard-wired? My preference is for hard-wired but obviously, plug-ins are easier. The drawbacks to plug ins - that they can easily be stolen or left behind after use (probably more likely for someone like me), I think outweigh the benefit of ease of use. The main drawback to hard-wired is that it requires installation, but that's a one-time activity that doesn't seem particularly difficult. As far as installation, is the junction box for shore power on the 320 in the storage box on the tongue?
I've seen enough reviews to be convinced that you shouldn't scrimp in this area. Two brands that are often recommend are Progressive Industries and Southwire and so I'm considering the PI EMS-LCHW30 and the SW Model 35530.
Would appreciate any suggestions and recommendations from the T@B community on all aspects of the above.
As a post-script, I intend to add a battery monitoring system but at a later date. For the break-in period, I plan to keep tabs on usage with my VOM.
2021 T@B 320 S Boondock / 2022 Telluride - Phillies/Eagles/Flyers Country

Comments

• Options
    TampakayakerTampakayaker Member Posts: 554
    You need a 30 amp.

I purchased this plug in type  Camco Analzyer 55312 Circuit Analyzer Dogbone 30 Amp.  I use a bicycle cable lock to lock the camper power cord to the analyzer and then to the power pole.  The analyzer has a metal tab on it to run the lock thru it.