BCDC Battery Charger?

RyanAndLuluRyanAndLulu Member Posts: 20
I am a bit OCD about my battery dying as I rarely camp where there are hookups. I have an early model T@B 400 (2018) with the AGM battery and factory installed solar panels which lasts ~3 days in cloudy weather. I also recently moved my trailer to a storage facility instead of parking at my house which means I no longer have a power source to charge the battery before or after a trip (besides a noisy/smelly generator). Has anyone installed a Redarc battery charger? Wondering if this will prolong my battery usage. Thanks!

p.s. I am a software engineer, not an electrical engineer... I am pretty klueless on anything electrical!

https://www.etrailer.com/dept-pg-Battery_Chargers-sf-Battery_Charger-sz-Vehicle_Battery_to_Auxiliary_Battery-pm-Redarc.aspx?utm_source=iContact&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=etrailer&utm_content=190408-T-RV-SR-V-BCDC-ManufSP-B

Girl Glamper | Austin, TX | 2018 Land Rover Discovery | 2018 T@B 400 |
Partner in Crime: Black pug (Lulu)

Comments

• Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,460
    Does your solar not charge your battery while camping?
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,580
    Not sure why you want this additional charger.  With factory installed solar panels you already have a solar-2-battery charger.  You should also have (or can add) a TV +12V Battery line to your 7-pin which will also charge the T@B battery while driving.
    Is your "storage unit" indoors or outside?  I store my T@B outside and have a small solar panel that does a great job keeping the battery topped off between travel adventure.
    '18 320 Spitched axle, 3020HE; PNW based
    TV: '17 Colorado V6 Z71 4x4, Tow Package, GM Brake Controller
    Adventures:  51   Nights:  322  Towing Miles 41,200+
  • jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,389