Options

Alde Boiler Drain

Hello Everyone.  I have been working on winterizing my 2018 T@B 400.  We bought this used this year, so I am a newbie.  Now, I went through a plumbing drain process by opening each of the low point drains one at a time without opening any of the faucets.  I did the HW bypass and pumped in the pink antifreeze into the plumbing.  Afterwards I became concerned that I did not follow proper procedure as I see that in "Travels with Delaney" he opens up all of the low point drain simultaneously.  I have re-opened the drain for the boiler and get no water.  However, I am concerned that the water may be vacuum trapped.  I'd rather not have to drain out the antifreeze to start over.  Does anyone have any thoughts on how to tell if still water in the Alde boiler, or another method to insure drain of the boiler.  I spoke with NuCamp technical and the representative I spoke with said that simple opening the boiler drain is enough.  Is he correct?

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,527
    I think the only reason to open all the low point drains at once is to speed things up.  Opening a hot and cold tap may help speed up the low point drainage.  The AF will take care of any residual water.

The Alde manual says to open all the faucets and then open the Alde drain (to prevent a vacuum effect).  If you know that the Alde tank is full, it is a good idea to put a bucket under the Alde water tank drain to measure the output, then raise the tongue.  This will give you more confidence of adequate drainage, however, Alde has indicated that a little water left in the boiler tank will not harm the Alde if it freezes.  So, maybe try that next year.  

At this point, you can try raising the tongue and releasing the valve.  Alde instructions say to leave the drain valve open after draining, so that will help, too.
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options