Options

Solar for a Beginner

mburke79mburke79 Member Posts: 13
Hi friends,

i was hoping to get to get some guidance on setting up solar for my 320CS. Most of the places we go don’t have hook-ups and I’m not a huge fan of the generator so I’d like to go the solar route. 

Please note - I’m a complete newbie - so if you get even a little technical, you’re gonna lose me. We need to power lights, fan, and charge a couple phones. If we can run a small keurig or the furnace, even better but those are not priorities for us. 

Any help or guidance is appreciated. 

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,497
    @mburke79,

A few lessons, but first a few things to consider:  

Solar panels charge your battery which in turn operates your 12 v appliances.  You don’t run appliances off of your solar panel.  A Keurig or any other 110 v appliance requires an “inverter” and adequate battery capacity.  Appliances that create heat such as a coffee pot, hair dryer, microwave etc require a much higher amount of amps and probably a bigger battery.

1.   How many amps a day will you use on average?  I can tell you we easily get by on less than 25 amps a day running some lights, Alde, pump, ARB frig.  Here is a handy discussion with member jkjenn’s famous chart:  
    https://jenngrover.com/2015/11/guilty-as-charged-rv-battery-use-management/

2.  What is your battery capacity (amps) at the 20 hr rate?  Is it a true deep cycle?  New TaBs have dealer supplied batteries that typically provide 75 amps or less.  You can only use half of those amps before recharging to extend the life of a deep cycle battery.

3.  How long do you expect to camp without power?  If only a couple days at a time, with modest use of power, you may be better served by simply increasing your battery capacity to 100 amps or greater.