Options

solar only or generator

Bart69Bart69 Member Posts: 2
I'm new to RV ing , just bought a 2021 nucamp 400 boondocks, and I'm considering getting a generator. Question is do I need one ? the boondocks has a 193 watt solar panel on the roof ,will this keep the batteries up for several days of boon docking using the refrigerator and lights?

Comments

• Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,445
    edited February 2021
    Warning: Prejudicial opinions following!

Go with the solar. Upgrade it and your battery capacity if you find you need to do so. Manage your power usage.

If you camp anywhere in proximity to others trying to enjoy nature, they will thank you!  ;-)

(And welcome to the forum!)
    2015 T@B S

• Options
    MarcelineMarceline Member Posts: 1,505
    edited February 2021
    It depends on solar conditions where/when you camp. No sun = no power. 
    Also, it’s really important to bring your fridge down to 40deg using shore power or do this well in advance so the solar has a chance to replenish the battery. 
    San Francisco Bay Area
    2013 CS-S us@gi
    Battered but trusty 3.5l V6 Hyundai Santa Fe
    2015 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Double Cab
  • Options
    VictoriaPVictoriaP Member Posts: 1,494
    May depend on where you live and camp. The further north you are, the less effective solar is even in full sun during the summer. If you’re in the south? I’ve yet to hear of anyone with the 400’s stock solar and batteries with some conservative use having much issue for a few days at a time or even longer. Adding a portable panel would be an easy upgrade if needed.